WINTHER coordinator, Prof. Vasilis Ntziachristos, is a new member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.
Prof. Ntziachristos is a Professor at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) holding the Chair for Biological Imaging.  He is also the Director of the Institute of Biological and Medical Imaging and the Head of the Bioengineering Center at Helmholtz Munich. Being a pioneer in implementing optoacoustics in the field of medical imaging, Prof.  Ntziachristos’ pragmatic vision and tireless efforts have brought technological solutions where classical medical and biological imaging techniques failed. His election as a new member of Leopoldina acknowledges this contribution and the continuous impact his research is having in the field.
Read the full announcement in the Helmholtz Munich website.
The precursor project to WINTHER, project INNODERM, started with the goal to develop a method to provide unprecedented views into skin diseases. It yielded a novel imaging modality that can see deeper and with higher discrimination beneath the skin surface than any competing method today. As a result of the achievements of the consortium, the project has was chosen as the winner of the European Commission’s 2021 ECS Innovation Award. On 24 November 2021, at the annual European Forum for Electronic Components and Systems (EFECS) meeting, Coordinator Prof. Vasilis Ntziachristos accepted the award on behalf of the consortium and gave a short presentation on the major achievements of the project. 
WINTHER Coordinator Prof. Vasilis Ntziachristos recieved the 2021 Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize for sucessfully translating problem-solving research into medical applications and solutions.
At the European Society of Molecular Imaging Meeting (EMIM) 2021, in Göttingen, Germany, PhD students Nikolina-Alexia Fasoula and Christoph Dehner (pictured above) took home Poster Awards in the sessions “Imaging Metabolism” and “Image Processing and Quantification”, respectfully, for their work using the RSOM.
WINTHER Lead Scientist, Juan Aguirre, recieved the 2021 Deutsche Dermatologische Gesselschaft Psoriasis Prize for his pioneering work with optoacoustic mesoscopy.